top of page
  • Writer's pictureKathryn Bigelow

A Month of Procrastination

I made great progress to the halfway point, right up until school swung up into full gear and the tomato vines hung heavy with fruit. The turning point of my story sat and languished while the tomatoes were lovingly harvested and processed. The main character sat stuck between a rock and a hard place while lessons were helped with and school work completed. Life happens and so did a bad case of procrastination, but I am not worried. My outline is strong and detailed and I can pick up where I left off knowing exactly what I had planned next. So once my tomatoes are finally finished ripening indoors and all processed, I can resume my writing with nary a blip.


My month of procrastination will hopefully be followed by a month of progress. While November is National Novel Writing Month, something I haven't officially participated in in years, I will hopefully be joining in more with the other aspects of the community surrounding the month long event. There will be write-in's, and sprints, as well as community chats and helpful discussions. I plan to jump back into the thick of the turning point and drag my character out from their predicament with some lessons learned and new friends made.


Yes, this is a shorter update. Likely the next couple of months will feature shorter updates more because of the nature of the holidays and breaks coming up. I fear less writing will happen simply because of life. I am currently at 59.7k and 25 chapters in (one is a blank place holder). I had planned for 40 chapters but so far have added in an additional two chapters. Time to jump back into the writing and get this thing written. I want to see this new arc come to life especially since I have other parts written as short stories. Can't share the shorts until the novel is finished and available in some form.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page